An Embarrassing Confession…

…is that I just spent the last three hours watching the Bachelor. I wasn’t alone for the deed– Maria and Julianne joined and even encouraged the madness. And for once, it wasn’t even my idea.

See, the night started out at dinner with Michal telling us about this great thing she saw on Yahoo! news. It was a spoof of the Bachelor, and it was only eight minutes long. We watched it, and it was actually very funny. So then, I decided it might be fun to watch an episode of the real show.

We watched the first episode of Season 12. The guy was British and the girls were hilarious.

Anyway, as most trashy shows are, this one was catchy. Very catchy. So catchy indeed that we watched 2 more episodes. After the second one, I was going to retire to my room to start studying, but Maria urged me to stay for another.

Fiiiiine. I am impressionable like that.

Anyway, after the third episode, I started feeling guilty and decided it was time to study. But not before I wrote this entry.

So here’s the thing: as trashy as the show may be, I can’t help but think I could do better than so many of these girls. Who knows, maybe in hindsight it’s easy to say that. But so many of them do such stupid things! I know I’m certainly no authority on the topic, but really, would you  trash talk a competitor to the potential man of your dreams? Would you get shwasted on your first night meeting the guy? Would you be the one who always interrupts when another girl has her alone time with the guy? Would you let the first thing you say to the guy be that you’re a champion arm wrestler?

Nah, neither would I.

I just feel like I could do a better job than a lot of these women. But I am a biased source…

I dunno, maybe that’s what makes good television (and I operationally define “good” as television that attracts viewers and keeps them hooked). Maybe it’s everything that’s wrong with the United States. Or maybe my inability to see past the artificiality is why I’m still single. Who knows?

Whatever the case, I’m hooked. This might be better than Wife Swap.

And now I leave you to start my studying.

2 thoughts on “An Embarrassing Confession…

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually hardly ever do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you will have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is one thing that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I am very glad that I stumbled throughout this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

Leave a Reply

