Finally the Cool American

Finally. It really took long enough. Because I’m living in University Flats, or the international student housing, most of my friends are international. And because, like, 80% of international students (or something like that) are American, most of the people I know are American. That’s pretty boring. I could have stayed home if I wanted American friends.

But that’s changing. Today, I went to my History of Science class wearing my thymine/adenine earrings. I sat in my usual seat, next to a guy who I’ve been talking to a little. He asked me what they were, so I explained. Turns out he’s a biochem minor, so he’s also a little nerdy and liked them. But anyway, class ended an hour early today (it’s usually a 2 hour long lecture) because the Dumbledore had to run to a guest lecture. He invited the class to come. So the guy I sat next to, the two girls who sat behind us, and I went together.

They’re all Kiwi. Thank God.

Anyway, we got to the lecture hall, and now keep in mind that this is a philosophy class and a philosophy lecture, and almost all the attendees were these old, grey men. Stereotypical to the max. The guy giving the lecture was British and had a delightful, posh accent. Quite lovely, really. But I didn’t understand most of what he said. Especially when he said the word “juggernaut.” I didn’t think people actually used that word. It’s one of those legendary words like “betwixt” or “harbinger” or “kerfuffle.” But even the loveliest of British accents cannot save a man from a red and green pinstriped jacket like the one he wore. It looked pretty silly. But anyway, the lecture reinforced to me why I’m not a philosophy major. It was something about how we differentiate fiction from non-fiction. Like, if a wolf came into the room we were in, we’d run away screaming. But in a movie, if there’s a wolf on the screen, we know it’s make believe, so we may be scared, but we don’t run away terrified. I don’t really know. Don’t ask me questions about it.

After the lecture, the guy who sat next to me left, but the other three of us followed the rest of the audience and the speaker to the university’s staff lounge for “drinks and nibbles.” This place is so classy.

It was there that I had my first ever legal alcoholic beverage. It was awesome. Rachel, one of the girls I was with, took a photo of me with a glass of legal wine in my hand. What a cool feeling, knowing I can do something here but not at home. It’s like when you ask one parent for permission to buy something really cool but they say no, so then you ask the other parent and they haven’t talked it over with the first parent and are generally more push-overy anyway, so they say yes and then you’re allowed to do whatever it was you had wanted to do in the first place. It’s like that. SUCK IT, AMERICA. Anyway…

So Rachel, the other girl (Maite, or something like that– she moved from Chile when she was 9), and I talked for about an hour. Turns out they’re both psychology majors, and Rachel is actually in my Sensation and Perception class. I really like them both. We talked about lots of stuff– differences between American and Kiwi universities and the processes of getting into each; how people in NZ take for granted the cool things they have around here, like the Rail Trail; the driving regulations across the different countries and how in Australia, it takes like 4 years from the time you get your permit until you have your full license; how people in NZ see things in American movies and are like whoooooaaaa and kind of put our culture on a pedestal; how Kansas and Nebraska are full of corn and that’s about all…

At the end of the night we exchanged numbers and talked about how we should get together another time soon for some deep philosophical thought exchange.

And the moral of the story? I HAVE KIWI FRIENDS.

Oh wow. The ice cream truck is back. Sweet as.

Leave a Reply

